top of page

Top Lop Rabbitry Blog starts....NOW !


Easter is around the corner, it's the first day of spring and I thought "I should start blogging" , so here I go! This may take the place of my email update list, but I will trial it for awhile and then decide.

The pictures are of my daughter, Jayda, with a couple of our bunnies. A photographer friend of ours wants to do Easter mini-sessions with kids and Jayda (with Dallas and Harris) is her poster-girl.

EVERYONE wants Easter bunnies and, well, I don't have Easter bunnies for sale, SORRY!

I have heard that "Hollands are hard to breed" here and there, but wasn't really sure if it was true. After talking with a judge at a rabbit show in January and looking back at my last year, this is definitely FACT. It is not that Hollands don't have babies, but you can breed 4 does and might get 1 or 2 litters (if you are lucky). Then some kindle all over the place and babies freeze (one of my last litters) or buck's go sterile in the heat of summer, or does just simply have tricks to not to get bred! So my want-list is longer than my supply, especially now that I have started showing rabbits and want to keep back more and sell off my older crop. So that's where I sit right now. I have 2 litters currently, one litter is not for sale (a potential show litter) at this time..once I know what I will keep I may have a couple to sell out of the 5, but not until at least 8 weeks old (likely later).

The other litter of 5 I have right now is for sale. These little guys should have blue eyes. There is a couple broken black and a couple sable or broken chinchilla (?), I'm not sure on their colour yet. Their eyes JUST opened, the white babies eyes look blue and the black ones are still dark, they may change. But my waiting list is long so these guys have unofficially all found homes. I hope to have a litter next weekend... but we will see.

Thank you for being interested in my holland lops! These are such sweet critters. I tell ya, I wish I could keep more of every single colour (my weakness, all the beautiful colors!). I have plans to build portable rabbit cages next week so that I can "mow grass" with them this summer :).

Here's to spring and hopefully some grass and dandelions popping up so we can treat our rabbits every day!

-Kami

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page